

## OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT PARLIAMENT BUILDING OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL FREETOWN



E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

27<sup>th</sup> June 2019

## PRESS RELEASE

## PARLIAMENT APPROVES TAMBA LAMINA AND THREE OTHERS

The Parliament of Sierra Leone has on Thursday 27th June 2019 debated and approved with some dissenting voices and votes the Fourth Report in the Second Session of its Committee on Appointments and the Public Service, chaired by the Leader of Government Business, Hon. Sidie M. Tunis.

Congratulating the nominees after approval, the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu implored the nominees to serve the country with greater distinction and devotion, assuring them of having the backing of the majority in Parliament, and called on them to live up to the expectations of the President, Parliament and the People of Sierra Leone.

The following presidential nominees were approved by Parliament:

- 1. Mr. Tamba John Sylvanus Lamina-Minister of Local Government and Rural Development
- 2. Mr. Brima Munda Sowa-Member, Board of Directors, EGTC
- 3. Pastor Mustapha Lamin Janneh-Member, Board of Directors, SLRSA and
- 4. Mr. Raymond Koroma-Member, Board of Directors, RMFA

Members of Parliament belonging to the SLPP, C4C and NGC who spoke to the motion endorsed the nominees as fit and qualified to serve in high offices of the State.

They also called on the nominees to work assiduously for the development of Sierra Leone. They urged the Minister of Local Government to restore the dignity of Paramount Chiefs by giving them an improved condition of service and to expedite the process of conducting elections for Paramount Chiefs. They also stated that Local Councils are directly responsible for development but had reneged in executing their duties over the years due to "ineptitude and corruption".

The APC posited that the nominees are qualified and that they had nothing against their persons, but that they were "going to vote against their nominations due to procedural breaches".

In finality, 58 MPs across the aisle voted for the approval of the presidential nominees as against APC's 48 votes.

Department of Public Relations Parliament of Sierra Leone +23278495023/+23278426851